UC Santa Barbara to host Big West Conference Track and Field Championships

UC Santa Barbara to host Big West Conference Track and Field Championships

Santa Barbara, Calif. - UC Santa Barbara Track and Field will host the Big West Conference Track and Field Championships this upcoming Friday May 10th and Saturday May 11th. This is a momentous occasion for the track and field program at UCSB as they will be hosting the conference championships for the first time since 1983, back when the conference was known as the Pacific Coast Athletic Association before it was renamed the Big West Conference 1988.

Live Results

Men's Championship Records

Women's Championship Records

Meet Schedule

Pauley Track and Field Facility Map

Team Area/Tents Map

Big West Conference Participant Handbook


Tickets will be available for purchase at the links provided below as well as on site at the Pauley Track and Field Facility. The links can also be accessed via the Big West Conference Participant Handbook linked above. Cash and credit cards will be acceptable. Tickets can be either printed out or scanned via smartphone. Will Call will be stationed at the northeast end of the track. Pricing will be as follows:

All Session (Day One and Two):

Adult - $22

Senior/Youth/Military - $12

All Session Ticket Link

Single Session (Day One or Two):

Adult - $13

Senior/Youth/Military/Students - $8

Day One Ticket Link

Day Two Ticket Link


The closest parking structure to the Pauley Track will be lot 30 across from the Lacrosse Field and Caesar Uyesaka Stadium. More parking is available at lot 18 across from the Recreational Center along with lot 27 by the Thunderdome. A map of the UCSB Campus will be provided here for more information. Friday parking will follow weekday pricing at $8 for an all day pass while Saturday parking will be priced at $4.


From the 101 North Freeway, take the exit onto 217 West towards SB Airport and UCSB. Continue onto the 217 West until you pass Henley Gate. Turn right at the roundabout towards Mesa Road and continue all the way to Stadium Road. Turn left onto Stadium Road and the track will be right next to Lot 30.

From the 101 South Freeway, take exit 108 towards Storke and Glen Annie Road. Take a right onto Storke Road and continue all the way to El Colegio Road. From there, take a left onto El Colegio Road and then turn left onto Stadium Road.


Scoring for the meet will follow the traditional format of top-eight placings with point values going 10-8-6-5-4-3-2-1. Relay events will follow the same scoring format.

Meet Preview

At last year's conference championships hosted at Cal State Northridge, the Gaucho women came agonizingly close to adding a second Big West Conference Team Title to their repertoire, but they were barely denied that opportunity by the 49ers of Long Beach State, losing the title by just two points, 120 to 122. Since winning the team title all the way back in 2005, the Gauchos have been attempting to claim the final piece of the puzzle for a second time, having garnered eight second places at the conference meet in the past 12 years. With the conference meet returning to Santa Barbara after 30 plus years, now would be a more appropriate time than ever to finally make that second title come to fruition.

The Gaucho men have also touted a decent track record in the past few years, taking second in 2013, 2015, and 2016 since their first team title in 2012. A loss of quite a few upperclassmen have thwarted their efforts to place higher in the last few years, taking fourth as a team in both 2017 and 2018, but like the women, a little home field advantage never hurt to encourage one clutch performance or two to swing the points in their favor.

Both the men and women have already started off well thanks to last week's performances at the Big West Conference Multi-Event Championships, with seniors Hope Bender and Tyler Nelson both winning their second individual championship titles in the heptathlon and decathlon. Sophomore Sam Pica also boosted the points on the men's side thanks to a fifth place finish in the decathlon, putting both teams at an early lead with the women at 10 points and the men at 14 points.


Below is a schedule for the championships along with a rundown of all the Gauchos that will be competing at the conference meet.

Friday, May 11

Field Events (Trials/Finals)

Men's Hammer 9:00 am

Kordell Hampton

Women's Pole Vault 11:00 am

Jazmine Haratani, Cassidy Peng, Kyra Sales

Women's Long Jump 12:00 pm

Hope Bender, Cassidy Peng

Women's Javelin 12:00 pm

Zoe Dalpe, Kendall Martin

Men's Long Jump 12:00 pm

Sam Pica

Men's Shot Put 3:00 pm

Eric Guerrero, Kordell Hampton, George Harris, Chris Ruggles

Men's High Jump 4:30 pm

Graham Michiels, Peter Michiels

Women's Discus 4:30 pm

Tori Palma, Gabriela Sanchez

Track Events (Trials except when noted)

Men's Steeplechase (Final) 2:00 pm

Juan Ambriz, Jack Landgraf, Thomas Wilfert

Women's Steeplechase (Final) 2:15 pm

Katie Camarena, Chloe Cox, Tori Yanco

Men's 1500 Meters 2:30 pm

Alex Barr, Jagdeep Singh Chahal, Bryan Johnson, Isaiah Lozano, Thomas Wilfert 

Women's 1500 Meters 2:50 pm

Kelly Bishop, Katie Camarena, Marisa Rodriguez, Astrid Rosvall, Sienna Serrao

Men's 110 Meter Hurdles 3:10 pm

Tyler Nelson

Women's 100 Meter Hurdles 3:30 pm

Hope Bender

Men's 400 Meters 3:45 pm

Stephen Garcia, Alexander Huggins, Sam Pica

Women's 400 Meters 4:00 pm

Paige Richard

Men's 100 Meters 4:15 pm

Callan Cochran, Ryan Morgan

Women's 100 Meters 4:30 pm

Men's 800 Meters 4:45 pm

James Douglass, Ramon Flores, Ian Hurlburt

Women's 800 Meters 5:00 pm

Bronwyn Bunnell, Chloe Cox, Maddie Meade, Astrid Rosvall

Men's 400 Meter Hurdles 5:15 pm

Women's 400 Meter Hurdles 5:30 pm

Hope Bender, Chloe Kimes, Ruby Mandell

Men's 200 Meters 5:45 pm

Women's 200 Meters 6:00 pm

Men's 10,000 Meters (Final) 6:15 pm

Yousef Baddour, Brandon Cobian, Nick Randazzo, Brian Schulz

Women's 10,000 Meters (Final) 6:55 pm

Andrea Anez, Sarah MacGregogor, Emma Overell, Jasmine Rippey


Saturday, May 12th

Field Events (Trials/Finals)

Wommen's Hammer 9:00 am

Tori Palma

Men's Pole Vault 11:00 am

Chris Aichinger

Men's Javelin 11:15 am

Aaron Cheek, Zachary Wilson

Women's Triple Jump 12:00 pm

Cassidy Peng

Men's High Jump 1:00 pm

Graham Michiels, Peter Michiels

Women's Shot Put 1:45 pm

Tori Palma, Gabriela Sanchez

Men's Discus 3:00 pm

Gabriel Coronado, Kordell Hampton, George Harris

Men's Triple Jump 3:30 pm

Tanner Berney, Glenn Mbamo

Track Events (Finals)

Women's 4x100 Meter Relay 2:00 pm

Brianna Cheeks, Leah Domontay, Alana Epps, Chloe Kimes

Men's 4x100 Meter Relay 2:10 pm

Stephen Garcia, Alexander Huggins, Ryan Morgan, Tyler Nelson

Men's 1500 Meters 2:20 pm

Women's 1500 Meters 2:30 pm

Men's 100 Meter Hurdles 2:40 pm

Women's 110 Meter Hurdles 2:50 pm

Men's 400 Meters 3:00 pm

Women's 400 Meters 3:10 pm

Men's 100 Meters 3:20 pm

Women's 100 Meters 3:25 pm

Men's 800 Meters 3:30 pm

Women's 800 Meters 3:40 pm

Men's 400 Meter Hurdles 3:55 pm

Women's 400 Meter Hurdles 4:05 pm

Men's 200 Meters 4:15 pm

Women's 200 Meters 4:25 pm

Men's 5000 Meters 4:35 pm

Yousef Baddour, Jack Landgraf, Nick Randazzo, Brian Schulz

Women's 5000 Meters 4:55 pm

Andrea Anez, Katie Camarena, Sarah MacGregor, Emma Overell, Jasmine Rippey, Tori Yanco

Men's 4x400 Meter Relay 5:20 pm

Stephen Garcia, Alexander Huggins, Tyler Nelson, Sam Pica

Women's 4x400 Meter Relay 5:30 pm

Alana Epps, Chloe Kimes, Ruby Mandell, Paige Richard

Check back at UCSBGauchos.com for future coverage and follow the team on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram for additional photos and news.